Action for Happiness releases Self-Care September 2020 Calendar

Share

From Action for Happiness, it’s Self-Care September, daily actions to help you be kinder to yourself (as well as others). “Self-care isn’t selfish, it’s essential. No-one’s perfect. But so often we compare our insides to other people’s outsides. This month we’re encouraging everyone to be kinder to themselves (as well as others), especially when things go wrong. Self-care increases our resilience and helps us get more out of life. It also helps us accept others as they are too.” To download a high resolution PDF Calendar and for more information, visit https://www.actionforhappiness.org/calendars

  • September 1 Tuesday: Remember that self-care is not selfish. It’s essential
  • September 2 Wednesday: Be willing to share how you feel and ask for help when needed
  • September 3 Thursday: Free up time in your diary by cancelling any unnecessary plans
  • September 4 Friday: Forgive yourself when things go wrong. We all make mistakes
  • September 5 Saturday: Plan a fun or relaxing activity this weekend and make time for it
  • September 6 Sunday: Focus on the basics eat well, exercise and go to bed on time
  • September 7 Monday: Remember it’s ok not to be ok. We all have difficult days
  • September 8 Tuesday: Notice the things you do well today, however small
  • September 9 Wednesday: Avoid saying ‘I ought to’ or ‘I should’ to yourself
  • September 10 Thursday: Give yourself permission to say No to requests from others
  • September 11 Friday: Aim to be good enough, rather than perfect
  • September 12 Saturday: Let go of being busy. Allow yourself to take some breaks today
  • September 13 Sunday: Make time today to do something you really enjoy
  • September 14 Monday: Talk kindly to yourself like you would to someone you love
  • September 15 Tuesday: Find a caring, calming phrase to say to yourself when feeling low
  • September 16 Wednesday: Notice what you are feeling today, without any judgment
  • September 17 Thursday: Leave positive messages for yourself to see regularly
  • September 18 Friday: Don’t compare how you feel inside to how others appear outside
  • September 19 Saturday: Get active outside and give your mind & body a natural boost
  • September 20 Sunday: No plans day – make time to slow down and be kind to yourself
  • September 21 Monday: Remind yourself that you are loved and worthy of love
  • September 22 Tuesday: Look at photos from a time with happy memories
  • September 23 Wednesday: Let go of other people’s expectations of you today
  • September 24 Thursday: Ask a trusted friend to tell you what they like about you
  • September 25 Friday: Release yourself from inner demands and self-criticism
  • September 26 Saturday: Find a new way to use one of your strengths or talents today
  • September 27 Sunday: Take your time. Make space to just breathe and be still
  • September 28 Monday: Accept your mistakes as a way of helping you make progress
  • September 29 Tuesday: Write down three things you appreciate about yourself today
  • September 30 Wednesday: You matter. Remember that you are enough, just as you are

For more information from Action for Happiness, visit their website at https://www.actionforhappiness.org/self-care-september


Contributed by Diane Ahern. She had been contemplating her New Year’s Resolutions and was searching for a monthly Kindness Calendar. She stumbled upon a series of monthly calendars from Action for Happiness, a movement of people committed to building a happier and more caring society. Diane is providing this calendar as information to those in our University City community who may want to spread more happiness. UCCA neither supports nor endorses the Action for Happiness organization or movement … but likes the idea of spreading happiness and kindness throughout University City. For more information about UCCA, visit https://www.universitycitynews.org/ucca-about-us/

For related posts from UCCA, visit https://www.universitycitynews.org/category/community-health/

Share

University City You Know

We value your feedback and input. Please ‘Contact Us’ at https://www.universitycitynews.org/contact-us-or-volunteer-in-uc/

News Break App: Follow us on News Break at https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/519870

Google News App: Read UCCA’s University City News posts by following Google News San Diego at https://news.google.com/

Like us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/universitycitycommunityassociation

Follow us on Twitter at https://twitter.com/UCCA_SD

Meet University City neighbors on Nextdoor at https://nextdoor.com/sandiego/

Sign up for email notifications at https://www.universitycitynews.org/sign-up-for-email-updates-from-ucca/

Visit our News Feed home page UCCA at https://www.universitycitynews.org/

Read the current print newsletter and review article guidelines at https://www.universitycitynews.org/ucca-newsletter-archives/

UCCA urges all to follow current guidance from SD County Health and Human services related to coronavirus and COVID-19. https://www.sandiego.gov/coronavirus