From Action for Happiness, it’s the Do Good December Daily Kindness Calendar

Share

2020 has been a difficult year in so many ways. We have suffered with uncertainty, anxiety, isolation and challenges with our financial situation, health or relationships. One thing that can hold us together and help us get through is kindness. Although we can’t change our situation, we can choose to respond to others (and ourselves) with kindness. And when we’re kind, everything goes better. We help others, we help ourselves and we encourage others to be kinder too. For more information and to download a high resolution version of the calendar, visit https://www.actionforhappiness.org/december

  • December 1 Tuesday: Share the Kindness Calendar with others and spread kindness
  • December 2 Wednesday: Contact someone you can’t be with to see how they are
  • December 3 Thursday: Offer to help someone who is facing difficulties at the moment
  • December 4 Friday: Give kind comments to as many people as possible today
  • December 5 Saturday: Make a gift for someone who is homeless or feeling lonely
  • December 6 Sunday: Support a charity, cause or campaign you really care about
  • December 7 Monday: Leave a positive message for someone else to find
  • December 8 Tuesday: Do something helpful for a friend or family member
  • December 9 Wednesday: Notice when you’re hard on yourself or others and be kind instead
  • December 10 Thursday: Listen wholeheartedly to others without judging them
  • December 11 Friday: Be generous. Feed someone with food, love or kindness today
  • December 12 Saturday: Buy an extra item and donate it to a local food bank
  • December 13 Sunday: See how many different people you can smile at today
  • December 14 Monday: Share a happy memory or inspiring thought with a loved one
  • December 15 Tuesday: Contact an elderly neighbour and brighten up their day
  • December 16 Wednesday: Look for something positive to say to everyone you speak to
  • December 17 Thursday: Practice gratitude. List the kind things others have done for you
  • December 18 Friday: Give away something that you have been holding on to
  • December 19 Saturday: Buy locally and support independent shops near you
  • December 20 Sunday: Contact someone who may be alone or feeling isolated
  • December 21 Monday: Appreciate kindness and thank people who do things for you
  • December 22 Tuesday: Congratulate someone for an achievement that may go unnoticed
  • December 23 Wednesday: Choose to give or receive the gift of forgiveness
  • December 24 Thursday: Bring joy to others. Share something which made you laugh
  • December 25 Friday: Treat everyone with kindness today, including yourself!
  • December 26 Saturday: Get outside. Pick up litter or do something kind for nature
  • December 27 Sunday: Call a relative who is far away to say hello and have a chat
  • December 28 Monday: Be kind to the planet. Eat less meat and use less energy
  • December 29 Tuesday: Turn off digital devices and really listen to people
  • December 30 Wednesday: Let someone know how much you appreciate them and why
  • December 31 Thursday: Plan some new acts of kindness to do in 2021

Contributed by Diane Ahern. She had been contemplating her New Year’s Resolutions and was searching for a monthly Kindness Calendar. She stumbled upon a series of monthly calendars from Action for Happiness, a movement of people committed to building a happier and more caring society. Diane is providing this calendar as information to those in our University City community who may want to spread more happiness. UCCA neither supports nor endorses the Action for Happiness organization or movement … but likes the idea of spreading happiness and kindness throughout University City. For more information about UCCA, visit https://www.universitycitynews.org/ucca-about-us/

For related posts from UCCA, visit https://www.universitycitynews.org/category/community-health/

Share

University City You Know

We value your feedback and input. Please ‘Contact Us’ at https://www.universitycitynews.org/contact-us-or-volunteer-in-uc/

News Break App: Follow us on News Break at https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/519870

Google News App: Read UCCA’s University City News posts by following Google News San Diego at https://news.google.com/

Like us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/universitycitycommunityassociation

Follow us on Twitter at https://twitter.com/UCCA_SD

Meet University City neighbors on Nextdoor at https://nextdoor.com/sandiego/

Sign up for email notifications at https://www.universitycitynews.org/sign-up-for-email-updates-from-ucca/

Visit our News Feed home page UCCA at https://www.universitycitynews.org/

Read the current print newsletter and review article guidelines at https://www.universitycitynews.org/ucca-newsletter-archives/

UCCA urges all to follow current guidance from SD County Health and Human services related to coronavirus and COVID-19. https://www.sandiego.gov/coronavirus