Action for Happiness issues Optimistic October 2021 Calendar: Daily actions to help you focus on what really matters

Share

From Action for Happiness: Especially when things are feeling a bit tough, it can help to set some goals.  Making goals achievable and ensuring that you have a few shorter term as well as longer term, more ambitious goals helps us feel we’re making progress. It doesn’t matter if your goal for the day is something really small, the important thing is to give yourself the opportunity to feel like you’ve achieved something and to celebrate that! This month’s calendar is full of ideas to help you think about how you can put this into practice. For more information, visit https://www.actionforhappiness.org/october

  • October 1 Friday: Write down three things you can look forward to this month
  • October 2 Saturday: Find something to be optimistic about (even if it’s a difficult time)
  • October 3 Sunday: Take a small step towards a goal that really matters to you
  • October 4 Monday: Start your day with the most important thing on your to-do list
  • October 5 Tuesday: Be a realistic optimist. See life as it is, but focus on what’s good
  • October 6 Wednesday: Remind yourself that things can change for the better
  • October 7 Thursday: Look for the good in people around you today
  • October 8 Friday: Make some progress on a project or task you have been avoiding
  • October 9 Saturday: Share an important goal with someone you trust
  • October 10 Sunday: Take time to reflect on what you have accomplished this week
  • October 11 Monday: Avoid blaming yourself or others. Find a helpful way forward
  • October 12 Tuesday: Look out for positive news and reasons to be cheerful today
  • October 13 Wednesday: Ask for help to overcome an obstacle you are facing
  • October 14 Thursday: Do something constructive to improve a difficult situation
  • October 15 Friday: Thank yourself for achieving the things you often take for granted
  • October 16 Saturday: Put down your to-do list and do something fun or uplifting
  • October 17 Sunday: Take a small step towards a positive change you want to see in society
  • October 18 Monday: Set hopeful but realistic goals for the week ahead
  • October 19 Tuesday: Identify one of your positive qualities that will be helpful in the future
  • October 20 Wednesday: Find joy in tackling a task you’ve put off for some time
  • October 21 Thursday: Let go of the expectations of others and focus on what matters to you
  • October 22 Friday: Share a hopeful quote, picture or video with a friend or colleague
  • October 23 Saturday: Recognize that you have a choice about what to prioritize
  • October 24 Sunday: Write down three specific things that have gone well recently
  • October 25 Monday: You can’t do everything! What are your three priorities this week?
  • October 26 Tuesday: Find a new perspective on a problem you face
  • October 27 Wednesday: Be kind to yourself today. Remember, progress takes time
  • October 28 Thursday: Ask yourself, will this still matter a year from now?
  • October 29 Friday: Plan a fun or exciting activity to look forward to
  • October 30 Saturday: Identify three things that give you hope for the future
  • October 31 Sunday: Set a goal that brings a sense of purpose for the coming month


Contributed by Diane Ahern. She had been contemplating her New Year’s Resolutions and was searching for a monthly Kindness Calendar. She stumbled upon a series of monthly calendars from Action for Happiness, a movement of people committed to building a happier and more caring society. Diane is providing this calendar as information to those in our University City community who may want to spread more happiness. UCCA neither supports nor endorses the Action for Happiness organization or movement … but likes the idea of spreading happiness and kindness throughout University City. For more information about UCCA, visit https://www.universitycitynews.org/ucca-about-us/

For related posts from UCCA, visit https://www.universitycitynews.org/category/community-health/

Share

University City You Know

We value your feedback and input. Please ‘Contact Us’ at https://www.universitycitynews.org/contact-us-or-volunteer-in-uc/

News Break App: Follow us on News Break at https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/519870

Google News App: Read UCCA’s University City News posts by following Google News San Diego at https://news.google.com/

Like us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/universitycitycommunityassociation

Follow us on Twitter at https://twitter.com/UCCA_SD

Meet University City neighbors on Nextdoor at https://nextdoor.com/sandiego/

Sign up for email notifications at https://www.universitycitynews.org/sign-up-for-email-updates-from-ucca/

Visit our News Feed home page UCCA at https://www.universitycitynews.org/

Read the current print newsletter and review article guidelines at https://www.universitycitynews.org/ucca-newsletter-archives/

UCCA urges all to follow current guidance from SD County Health and Human services related to coronavirus and COVID-19. https://www.sandiego.gov/coronavirus