KPBS: San Diego Redistricting Commission finalizes new map of City Council districts


From KPBS published 12/16/2021: San Diego’s independent Redistricting Commission on Wednesday finalized a new map of City Council districts that unites some neighborhoods into a single council district, but splits up other neighborhoods into two or more districts. Among the major changes to the map are moving Pacific Beach from District 2 to District 1, moving University City from District 1 to District 6 and splitting Mission Valley between Districts 3, 7 and 9.

The final map approved Wednesday also splits the UC San Diego campus into two districts. The portion west of Interstate-5, which houses mostly undergraduates, remains grouped with La Jolla in District 1. The eastern portion, which houses mostly graduate students, is paired with the more diverse University City and Mira Mesa in District 6.

Listen to the full report, read the transcript, and watch the video from KPBS at

Please note: Maps do not display properly on mobile devices; use a laptop or desktop computer to access.

View the final Map 92973 and supporting documents from the Redistricting Commission at


University City You Know

We value your feedback and input. Please ‘Contact Us’ at

News Break App: Follow us on News Break at

Google News App: Read UCCA’s University City News posts by following Google News San Diego at

Like us on Facebook at

Follow us on Twitter at

Meet University City neighbors on Nextdoor at

Visit our News Feed home page UCCA at

Read the current print newsletter and review article guidelines at

UCCA urges all to follow current guidance from SD County Health and Human services related to coronavirus and COVID-19.