Get 2021 off to a positive start: Action for Happiness releases Happier January calendar

Share

From Action for Happiness: How can we start this new year happier? Things have certainly not been easy over the last year, and we are still in difficult and uncertain times. The best way to try to handle our difficult emotions and experiences is by focusing on what we can control. This month, we’re encouraging everyone to focus on small steps to try to boost happiness – for ourselves and others around us – to spread kindness and hopefully inspire others to do the same. For more information and to download a high resolution version of the calendar, visit https://www.actionforhappiness.org/calendars

Happier January – daily actions to help you get 2021 off to a positive start:

  • Happier January 1 Friday: Find three good things to look forward to this year
  • Happier January 2 Saturday: Make time today to do something kind for yourself
  • Happier January 3 Sunday: Do a kind act for someone else to help to brighten their day
  • Happier January 4 Monday: Write a list of things you feel grateful for in life and why
  • Happier January 5 Tuesday: Look for the good in others and notice their strengths
  • Happier January 6 Wednesday: Take five minutes to sit still and just breathe
  • Happier January 7 Thursday: Learn something new and share it with others
  • Happier January 8 Friday: Say positive things to the people you meet today
  • Happier January 9 Saturday: Get moving. Do something physically active (ideally outdoors)
  • Happier January 10 Sunday: Thank someone you’re grateful to and tell them why
  • Happier January 11 Monday: Switch off all your tech 2 hours before bedtime
  • Happier January 12 Tuesday: Connect with someone near you – share a smile or chat
  • Happier January 13 Wednesday: Be gentle with yourself when you make mistakes
  • Happier January 14 Thursday: Take a different route today and see what you notice
  • Happier January 15 Friday: Eat healthy food which really nourishes you today
  • Happier January 16 Saturday: Get outside and notice five things that are beautiful
  • Happier January 17 Sunday: Contribute positively to a good cause or your community
  • Happier January 18 Monday: Focus on what’s good, even if today feels tough
  • Happier January 19 Tuesday: Get back in contact with an old friend you miss
  • Happier January 20 Wednesday: Go to bed in good time and give yourself time to recharge
  • Happier January 21 Thursday: Take a small step towards an important goal
  • Happier January 22 Friday: Try out something new to get out of your comfort zone
  • Happier January 23 Saturday: Plan something fun and invite others to join you
  • Happier January 24 Sunday: Put away digital devices and focus on being in the moment
  • Happier January 25 Monday: Decide to lift people up rather than put them down
  • Happier January 26 Tuesday: Say hello to a neighbor and get to know them better
  • Happier January 27 Wednesday: Challenge your negative thoughts and look for the upside
  • Happier January 28 Thursday: Ask other people about things they’ve enjoyed recently
  • Happier January 29 Friday: Use one of your personal strengths in a new way
  • Happier January 30 Saturday: Count how many people you can smile at today
  • Happier January 31 Sunday: Write down your hopes or plans for the future

Contributed by Diane Ahern. She had been contemplating her New Year’s Resolutions and was searching for a monthly Kindness Calendar. She stumbled upon a series of monthly calendars from Action for Happiness, a movement of people committed to building a happier and more caring society. Diane is providing this calendar as information to those in our University City community who may want to spread more happiness. UCCA neither supports nor endorses the Action for Happiness organization or movement … but likes the idea of spreading happiness and kindness throughout University City. For more information about UCCA, visit https://www.universitycitynews.org/ucca-about-us/

For related posts from UCCA, visit https://www.universitycitynews.org/category/community-health/

Share

University City You Know

We value your feedback and input. Please ‘Contact Us’ at https://www.universitycitynews.org/contact-us-or-volunteer-in-uc/

News Break App: Follow us on News Break at https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/519870

Google News App: Read UCCA’s University City News posts by following Google News San Diego at https://news.google.com/

Like us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/universitycitycommunityassociation

Follow us on Twitter at https://twitter.com/UCCA_SD

Meet University City neighbors on Nextdoor at https://nextdoor.com/sandiego/

Sign up for email notifications at https://www.universitycitynews.org/sign-up-for-email-updates-from-ucca/

Visit our News Feed home page UCCA at https://www.universitycitynews.org/

Read the current print newsletter and review article guidelines at https://www.universitycitynews.org/ucca-newsletter-archives/

UCCA urges all to follow current guidance from SD County Health and Human services related to coronavirus and COVID-19. https://www.sandiego.gov/coronavirus