Action for Happiness issues the 2021 Altruistic August calendar with daily actions to help you be kinder to others (and yourself too)

Share

From Action for Happiness: Altruism is vital for the human race to survive and thrive; and each of our lives is supported by countless kind acts from other people. Yet in our world today, so much is directing us to think only about ourselves – and we often forget the happiness that comes by caring for others. We want to change that. This August Action for Happiness asking everyone to take one kind act per day. Let’s create a wave of kindness to spread around the world. Details at https://www.actionforhappiness.org/calendars

Altruistic August: daily actions to help you be kinder to others (and yourself too).

  • August 1 Sunday: Set an intention to be kind to others (and yourself) this month
  • August 2 Monday: Send an uplifting message to someone you can’t be with
  • August 3 Tuesday: Be kind and supportive with everyone you interact with
  • August 4 Wednesday: Ask someone how they feel and really listen to their reply
  • August 5 Thursday: Spend time wishing for other people to be happy and well
  • August 6 Friday: Smile and be friendly to the people you see today
  • August 7 Saturday: Give time to help a project or cause you care about
  • August 8 Sunday: Make some tasty food today for someone who will appreciate it
  • August 9 Monday: Be generous. Feed someone with food, love or kindness today
  • August 10 Tuesday: Check in with someone who may be lonely or feeling anxious
  • August 11 Wednesday: Share an encouraging news story to inspire others
  • August 12 Thursday: Contact a friend to let them know you’re thinking of them
  • August 13 Friday: If someone annoys you, be kind. Imagine how they may be feeling
  • August 14 Saturday: Take an action to be kind to nature and care for our planet
  • August 15 Sunday: No plans day! Be kind to yourself so you can be kind to others too
  • August 16 Monday: Make a thoughtful gift as a surprise for someone
  • August 17 Tuesday: Be kind online. Share positive and supportive comments
  • August 18 Wednesday: Today do something to make life easier for someone else
  • August 19 Thursday: Be thankful for your food and the people who made it possible
  • August 20 Friday: Look for the good in everyone you meet today
  • August 21 Saturday: Donate unused items, clothes or food to help a local charity
  • August 22 Sunday: Give people the gift of your full attention
  • August 23 Monday: Share an article, book or podcast you found helpful
  • August 24 Tuesday: Forgive someone who hurt you in the past
  • August 25 Wednesday: Give your time, energy or attention to help someone in need
  • August 26 Thursday: Find a way to ‘pay it forward’ or support a good cause
  • August 27 Friday: Notice when someone is down and try to brighten their day
  • August 28 Saturday: Have a friendly chat with someone you don’t know very well
  • August 29 Sunday: Do something kind to help in your local community
  • August 30 Monday: Give away something to help those who don’t have as much as you
  • August 31 Tuesday: Share Action for Happiness with other people today

Details and more information at https://www.actionforhappiness.org/calendars


Contributed by Diane Ahern. She had been contemplating her New Year’s Resolutions and was searching for a monthly Kindness Calendar. She stumbled upon a series of monthly calendars from Action for Happiness, a movement of people committed to building a happier and more caring society. Diane is providing this calendar as information to those in our University City community who may want to spread more happiness. UCCA neither supports nor endorses the Action for Happiness organization or movement … but likes the idea of spreading happiness and kindness throughout University City. For more information about UCCA, visit https://www.universitycitynews.org/ucca-about-us/

For related posts from UCCA, visit https://www.universitycitynews.org/category/community-health/

Share

University City You Know

We value your feedback and input. Please ‘Contact Us’ at https://www.universitycitynews.org/contact-us-or-volunteer-in-uc/

News Break App: Follow us on News Break at https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/519870

Google News App: Read UCCA’s University City News posts by following Google News San Diego at https://news.google.com/

Like us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/universitycitycommunityassociation

Follow us on Twitter at https://twitter.com/UCCA_SD

Meet University City neighbors on Nextdoor at https://nextdoor.com/sandiego/

Sign up for email notifications at https://www.universitycitynews.org/sign-up-for-email-updates-from-ucca/

Visit our News Feed home page UCCA at https://www.universitycitynews.org/

Read the current print newsletter and review article guidelines at https://www.universitycitynews.org/ucca-newsletter-archives/

UCCA urges all to follow current guidance from SD County Health and Human services related to coronavirus and COVID-19. https://www.sandiego.gov/coronavirus