Action for Happiness issues Self Care September 2021 Calendar

Share

Daily actions to help you be kinder to yourself (as well as others) from Action for Happiness: Self-care isn’t selfish, it’s essential. No-one’s perfect. But so often we compare our insides to other people’s outsides. This month we’re encouraging everyone to be kinder to themselves (as well as others), especially when things go wrong. Self-care increases our resilience and helps us get more out of life. It also helps us accept others as they are too. Details at https://www.actionforhappiness.org/calendars

Self Care September: daily actions to help you be kinder to others (and yourself too).

  • September 1 Wednesday: Find time for self-care. It’s not selfish, it’s essential
  • September 2 Thursday: Notice the things you do well, however small
  • September 3 Friday: Let go of self-criticism and speak to yourself kindly
  • September 4 Saturday: Plan a fun or relaxing activity and make time for it
  • September 5 Sunday: Forgive yourself when things go wrong. Everyone makes mistakes
  • September 6 Monday: Focus on the basics: eat well, exercise and go to bed on time
  • September 7 Tuesday: Give yourself permission to say ‘no’
  • September 8 Wednesday: Be willing to share how you feel and ask for help when needed
  • September 9 Thursday: Aim to be good enough, rather than perfect
  • September 10 Friday: When you find things hard, remember it’s ok not to be ok
  • September 11 Saturday: Make time to do something you really enjoy
  • September 12 Sunday: Get active outside and give your mind and body a natural boost
  • September 13 Monday: Be as kind to yourself as you would to a loved one
  • September 14 Tuesday: If you’re busy, allow yourself to pause and take a break
  • September 15 Wednesday: Find a caring, calming phrase to use when you feel low
  • September 16 Thursday: Leave positive messages for yourself to see regularly
  • September 17 Friday: Notice what you are feeling, without any judgment
  • September 18 Saturday: Ask a trusted friend to tell you what strengths they see in you
  • September 19 Sunday: No plans day. Make time to slow down and be kind to yourself
  • September 20 Monday: Enjoy photos from a time with happy memories
  • September 21 Tuesday: Don’t compare how you feel inside to how others appear outside
  • September 22 Wednesday: Take your time. Make space to just breathe and be still
  • September 23 Thursday: Let go of other people’s expectations of you
  • September 24 Friday: Accept yourself and remember that you are worthy of love
  • September 25 Saturday: Find a new way to use one of your strengths or talents
  • September 26 Sunday: Avoid saying ‘I should’ and make time to do nothing
  • September 27 Monday: Free up time by cancelling any unnecessary plans
  • September 28 Tuesday: Choose to see your mistakes as steps to help you learn
  • September 29 Wednesday: Write down three things you appreciate about yourself
  • September 30 Thursday: Remind yourself that you are enough, just as you are

Details at https://www.actionforhappiness.org/calendars


Contributed by Diane Ahern. She had been contemplating her New Year’s Resolutions and was searching for a monthly Kindness Calendar. She stumbled upon a series of monthly calendars from Action for Happiness, a movement of people committed to building a happier and more caring society. Diane is providing this calendar as information to those in our University City community who may want to spread more happiness. UCCA neither supports nor endorses the Action for Happiness organization or movement … but likes the idea of spreading happiness and kindness throughout University City. For more information about UCCA, visit https://www.universitycitynews.org/ucca-about-us/

For related posts from UCCA, visit https://www.universitycitynews.org/category/community-health/

Share

University City You Know

We value your feedback and input. Please ‘Contact Us’ at https://www.universitycitynews.org/contact-us-or-volunteer-in-uc/

News Break App: Follow us on News Break at https://www.newsbreak.com/@c/519870

Google News App: Read UCCA’s University City News posts by following Google News San Diego at https://news.google.com/

Like us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/universitycitycommunityassociation

Follow us on Twitter at https://twitter.com/UCCA_SD

Meet University City neighbors on Nextdoor at https://nextdoor.com/sandiego/

Sign up for email notifications at https://www.universitycitynews.org/sign-up-for-email-updates-from-ucca/

Visit our News Feed home page UCCA at https://www.universitycitynews.org/

Read the current print newsletter and review article guidelines at https://www.universitycitynews.org/ucca-newsletter-archives/

UCCA urges all to follow current guidance from SD County Health and Human services related to coronavirus and COVID-19. https://www.sandiego.gov/coronavirus